The Sun is Also a Star, by Nicola Yoon

28763485

Credit Image

I was a little hesitant to read this book as I had heard that I wasn’t nearly as good as Everything Everything. At the start I found it a little confusing and struggled to keep up with the ever changing narrator. However, as the story progressed it started to make more sense and I began to really enjoy the chapters which were told from ‘the universe’s point of view’. I think that these added chapters really helped to make the book as good as it was as they allowed you to understand each character more and to see the intricate chain of ‘coincidences’ which created the story.

In terms of characters, I really liked how original and different they were. Daniel was a hopeless romantic who looked at everything in a poetical way, while Natasha strongly believed in the facts and science. The less prominent characters, such as Daniel’s brother and Natasha’s father, were also really interesting to read about, especially through the point of view of the universe. While I enjoyed each character’s individual personality, I thought that because of Natasha’s factual point of view, she ended up looking a little rude, stubborn and single minded. I still liked her character, however I thought that her scientific opinions were over exaggerated.

After reading Everything Everything, I was worried about the ending of this story, as although I enjoyed the ending of Everything Everything in terms of Madeline & Oliver’s relationship and Maddy’s illness, I didn’t like how there was no forgiveness or smooth ending in terms of family. (Sorry, I am trying not to include any spoilers…) However, the ending to TSIAAS was perfectly happy and sweet.

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this book as it truly changed my view on the world and how one tiny action or coincidence can change someone’s life forever. I would rate this book 4 stars and would definitely recommend it to almost anyone… 🙂

Leave a Reply

