Review of Tilly Maguire and the Royal Wedding Mess

40728740

Unapologetically swoon-worthy, yet powerfully (dare I say) feminist in its characterisation of the main character, Tilly Maguire and the Royal Wedding Mess presented an independent, strong female lead that had me gushing. Tilly may’ve be an (ex)major fan of the main love interest, pop-star, Reuben Vaughan, but that didn’t mean she was going to collapse at his feet, something which I really respected in her character.

Goodreads synopsis:

Aspiring writer, 18-year-old Tilly Maguire, is a totally reformed ex-superfan of British boyband singer, Reuben Vaughan. Yeah, she was going to marry him when she was thirteen, but that fangirl phase is way in her past now, along with an unfortunate side ponytail and a weird obsession with galaxy leggings – ugh. Cringe!

When her writing wins Tilly a six-week internship at a top London PR firm, she doesn’t expect to stumble from a long-haul flight straight into an A-list debacle of her own making, but these things happen. She proves to the entire world that jet lag and social media definitely don’t mix.

Obviously, Tilly didn’t intend to get tangled in a ridiculous scandal involving the British royal family. She’s not the attention-seeking type! She’s just a socially awkward introvert, with a galloping case of anxiety made even worse after a high-profile run-in with the very last person she ever imagined she’d meet for real.

Not on her gap year, anyway.

And not like this!

Sure, the story is unequivocally romantic, over-the-top (in the best possible way) and just plain dramatic (with a capital ‘d’, if you insist), but somehow it didn’t feel, stale or cliche. With LGBT+ and mental health representation, plus an Australian main character (yay!), TMATRWM was more substantial than just your usual ‘fluffy’ read. An amazing book that I have already begun ambushing my friends with, Tilly Maguire and the Right Royal Wedding Mess would be perfect for fans of Geek Girl and The Princess Diaries.

I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher in return for an honest review.

Image credit Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s