January Reading Wrap Up

Ahh… Another month done and dusted. January was a good great month of reading, reviewing & blogging for me. This is what I hope to be the first of many monthly reading wrap ups for 2018. 🙂

Fast Facts

                                              Image Credit Goes to Goodreads

  • Books Read: 13
  • Bought: 2
  • Borrowed: 3
  • Reviewed: 5

Shortest Book? Moby Dick; A Pop Up Book, Sam Ita (8 Pages)

Longest Book? When Dimple Met Rishi, Sandy Menon (380 Pages)

 Favourites of the Month

Favourite Book? 

30724132Geekerella.

Favourite Fictional Couple? Sage & Cal from Geekerella.

Favourite Fictional Setting? 

30849412The Arctic in The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr.

Favourite Bookish Quote? 

34518216._UY768_SS768_Probably one of the poems from The Witch Doesn’t Burn in This One by Amanda Lovelace, such as:

here’s

the tricky thing

about fire:

 

It stays soft

even while it

destroys

 

everything

in its

path,

 

but

it’s up

to you

 

to

make sure

that

 

it doesn’t

burn the

good

 

with

the rot.

– we can’t loose our empathy.

Reading Challenge Progress

Modern Mrs Darcy Reading Challenge– I need your help!

I’ve read 3 out of the 12 books and while I’m happy with my progress, I am worried that I won’t be able to find books to fit some of the more creative topics.

The three that I’ve completed are:

  • Book by an author of a different race, ethnicity or religion of your own- When Dimple Met Rishi, Sandhya Menon.
  • A book of poetry, a play or an essay collection- The Princess Saves Herself in This One, Amanda Lovelace.
  • A book by a favourite author- Landline, Rainbow Rowell.

The topics I need help with are:

  • A book in translation
  • A book that’s more than 500 pages
  • A book you can read in a day

If you have any good suggestions for these topics, or just books in general, I would love to hear from you! 🙂

BTB2018MainHeader_transparent

Beat The Backlist Reading Challenge

BTB2018_DDTeamI have only read 1 book out of the twelve that I said I would read for this challenge. That book was Kite by Melvin Burgess. I’m actually reading another Backlist book now that I hope to finish next week.

Goodreads Challenge

13/80. I’m pretty happy with my progress for this challenge- according to Goodreads I’m 6 books ahead of schedule which can only be a good thing… 🙂

NetGalley Progress

I am currently reading one eArc, have one waiting to be read and recently finished another. I still have 3 pending requests.

What books have you been reading recently? Feel free to leave any comments in the section down below. Happy reading :).

 

 

9 thoughts on “January Reading Wrap Up

  1. Bree says:

    I love this wrap up!

    If you like those poetry books, you may really like No Matter the Wreckage by Sarah Kay. She’s my favorite spoken word poet and when she came out with a published book of poetry I died and kept dying as I read it.

    You might be familiar with her poem “B” – that poem is an illustrated book that I ended up buying for my daughter. Here is her performance of it on TEDtalks: https://youtu.be/_Eq-3oywyAA

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment