And Then There Were None- Review

 

11056011


Goodreads Synopsis: 

 

First, there were ten – a curious assortment of strangers summoned as weekend guests to a private island off the coast of Devon. Their host, an eccentric millionaire unknown to all of them, is nowhere to be found. All that the guests have in common is a wicked past they’re unwilling to reveal – and a secret that will seal their fate. For each has been marked for murder. One by one they fall prey. Before the weekend is out, there will be none. And only the dead are above suspicion.

My Thoughts:

After picking And Then There Were None up from the library, I was intrigued to see how my first Agatha Christie novel would stack up to my high expectations. Luckily, the book didn’t disappoint. And Then There Were None was a fast paced, complex book filled with intricate character backstories and a gripping storyline. I was hooked on this story right up until the very last page.

What I loved most about this book was how hard it was to guess the murder. You would think that with ten people meeting their death, it would be easy to guess who the person killing them was. But it wasn’t easy at all. Sure, I had my slight suspicions, but th4ere were always flaws to my ideas. After reaching the end of the last chapter, I had finally worked out, or thought that I had worked out, who the murder was. But then, after moving onto the epilogue, it became evident that I was completely wrong. Thankfully, all was explained in the final part of the story (after the epilogue) and I was left suitably satisfied  by its clever ending.

I have to admit that at times I felt the story moved a little too fast and I had to keep flicking back to reread the introduction of certain characters. While this was a little difficult to manage at first, I soon adapted to the fast-paced style of the novel and ended up really enjoying the suspense that this feature created.

Overall, a great book that I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a suspenseful book. Definitely a 4 star read :).

2 thoughts on “And Then There Were None- Review

Leave a comment